Students Governance

DoS Message on Student Governance

Murang’a University of Technology Students’ Organisation (MUTSO), Clubs and societies, Work Study and financial aid program, Guidance and Counselling and Games and Sports. Besides, this office acts as a bridge between students and other university departments and external organisations, especially the Health Unit, Finance Department, Catering and Accommodation, Campus Security Office, Off-Campus hostels owners, Higher Education Loans Board (HELB), and other education funding agencies.

While addressing issues pertaining to students’ welfare, MUT through the DoS office has achieved several milestones. These achievements include Efficiency and efficacy in addressing students’ complaints, opinions and compliments; Administration of students’ financial aid; Participation in community outreach activities; Provision of opportunities for excellence in co-curricular activities; Guidance and counseling department’s success in addressing emerging issues in Higher Education.

Murang’a University of Technology Students’ Organisation (MUTSO)


The Murang’a University of Technology Student Organization (MUTSO) is a group of undergraduate students elected to represent MUT students.


We listen to students and address their concerns. We connect the gap between students and administrators.  We support student groups and sponsor house life.  We encourage events on campus and improve student life. We are here for the students. We are here for you. We are the MUTSO.


MUTSO leaders

Current (MUTSO) Members

Chairman:  Reuben Mwirigi

Vice-Chairman: Winnie Achieng

Secretary-General: Brian Kipkemei

Finance Minister: Patrick Mutavi

Academic Minister: Benjamin Lapit Toukou

Catering, Accommodation, Gender & Minority Minister: Olive Wawira Zipporah

Sports, Games & Entertainment Minister: Trevor Tayari Kazungu